Monday, November 9, 2015

2015 CJFL Major Award Winners

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Major Award winners for the 2015 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Jostens Banquet of Champions in Saskatoon, SK.

The award winners are:

Gord Currie Coach of the Year 
Shane Beatty – Okanagan Sun – for the second consecutive year Shane Beatty is honoured as his club has not lost a game this season.  The Sun were 10-0 during the regular season and a perfect 2-0 in the playoffs outscoring the opposition 129-7.  Beatty led the Sun to the first BCFC title in 11 seasons and a berth in the Canadian Bowl.

Rookie of the Year 
Tony Savchuk – Edmonton Wildcats – 29 tackles, 4 assists, 1 sack, 2 knockdowns, 1 forced fumble, 5 interceptions

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player 
Derek Yachison –Kamloops Broncos – 73 catches, 1026 yards and 14 touchdowns

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player 
Cole Benkic – Saskatoon Hilltops – 19 tackles, 13 assists, 0.5 sacks, 3 knockdowns, 2 fumble recoveries, three interceptions, one for a touchdown

CJFL Past Commissioners Award 
Brandon Quach – Edmonton Wildcats

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year 
Jim Pankovich – CJFL Commissioner

CJFL Life Member
Randy O’Shaughnessy

CJFL Ed Henick Meritorious Service Award
Bob Bula – Edmonton Huskies

No comments: